Donate to UWC Scholarships

Last update:
October, 2019

Tobey Bassoff – 2017 Margaret Willard Award Winner

Tobey Bassoff, Principal of Ryan Elementary Steam School, BVSD was  nominated by member Barbara Spriggs, former Director of Student Teaching for CU’s School of Education.

Tobey helped spearhead the STEAM program at Ryan Elementary, and developed partnerships with parents, community organizations, and CU’s School of Education. Ryan STEAM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts and Mathematics) School is a dynamic learning community with a focus on authentically partnering with families and the community to prepare students. Along with delivering common core standards, Ryan focuses on developing the whole child with experiential project-based learning activities in the STEAM areas. Ryan embraces technology for engaging students and supporting learning.

Tobey, her faculty, and parents strongly believe partnerships nurture excellence and therefore Ryan partners with the University of Colorado, Thorne Nature Experience, Growe Foundation, and Impact on Education to name a few. Ryan offers a wide variety of after-school and summer programming. Tobey has also been a partner with CU’s School of Education and provides a strong experience for the preparation of future teachers.

Recently Tobey has been named the 2017 National Distinguished Principal for Colorado by the Colorado Association of School Executives (CASE) and a committee from Colorado Association Elementary School Principals. They noted that “Recognizing the unique needs of each stakeholder, be they a child, parent, staff member, or community organizer, is central to Bassoff’s leadership style”.